2017 MyHVnet AGM

MyHVnet AGM 2017

SERDANG, 12 January 2017 – Malaysian High Voltage Network (MyHVnet) 2017 Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held on 12 January 2017 at the Faculty of Engineering, Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM). It was attended by 28 high voltage experts from 11 organisations (from universities and industries) throughout Malaysia. Some of the attendees first visited the High Voltage Laboratory, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, UPM, led by Prof. Ir. Dr. Mohd. Zainal Abidin Ab. Kadir of Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), the newly elected 2017-2018 MyHVnet Chairman. All the attendees later on sit in the AGM which took place at Dewan Seminar, Faculty of Engineering, UPM, chaired by Prof. Dr. Zulkurnain Abdul Malek of Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM), i.e., the 2015-2016 MyHVnet Chairman.

Prof. Dr. Zulkurnain addressed his hopes that the year 2017 will see a better chance for MyHVnet to excel, especially to extend the collaboration between universities and industries throughout Malaysia. To date, MyHVnet have had 2 meetings previously, i.e., one each in 2015 and 2016, one colloquium on 26 January 2016, and published 1 newsletter in January 2016.

The AGM was later on followed by the endorsement of the 2016 Meeting Minutes, 2016 Treasurer’s Report and dissolution of the 2015-2016 Committee. The election of the 2017-2018 Committee (with specific tasks) came next, with a few new committee members appointed, and many of the previous committee members maintained, in order to ensure a smooth transition for MyHVnet. The newly elected 2017-2018 MyHVnet Committee members are as follows:

Prof. Ir. Dr. Mohd. Zainal Abidin Ab Kadir (Universiti Putra Malaysia)

Assoc. Prof. Ir. Dr. Mohd. Kamarol Mohd. Jamil (Universiti Sains Malaysia)

Secretary I:
Dr. Wan Fatinhamamah Wan Ahmad (Universiti Putra Malaysia)

Secretary II:
Dr. Nor Asiah Muhamad (Universiti Sains Malaysia)

Dr. Mohd. Taufiq Ishak (Universiti Pertahanan Nasional Malaysia)

EXCOMM Members (Specific Portfolio):
Industrial Relations:
Ir. Surian Rasol (Grandtop High Voltage Technology Sdn. Bhd.)

Industrial Visits:
Ir. Iryani Mohamed Rawi (Tenaga Nasional Berhad Transmission)

Dr. Lau Kwan Yiew (Universiti Teknologi Malaysia)
Dr. Norhafiz Azis (Universiti Putra Malaysia)

Dr. Mohd. Hafizi Ahmad (Universiti Teknologi Malaysia)

Dr. Zulkarnain Ahmad Noorden (Universiti Teknologi Malaysia)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Muzamir Isa (Universiti Malaysia Perlis)
Ir. Sanuri Ishak (TNB Research)
Dr. Amir Izzani (Universit Malaysia Pahang)
Dr. Hazlee Illias (Universiti Malaya)
Dr. Hidayat Zainuddin (Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka)
Mr. Mohd. Nor Khaidir Hussein (TNB Research)

Among the highlights concluded from the 2017 MyHVnet AGM were publications would be from the MyHVnet Newsletter, plus the biennial MyHVnet Colloquium, with the next round to be held in January 2018 at UPM. Also, MyHVnet members were encouraged to participate in activities organised by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS) Malaysia Chapter, especially in the planning for a flagship conference for IEEE DEIS Malaysia Chapter and several technical visits to be organised together with IEEE DEIS Malaysia Chapter in the near future.

In the closing remark, Prof. Ir. Dr. Mohd Zainal thanked the whole 2015-2016 MyHVnet committee on their relentless efforts in bringing MyHVnet to reality. He hoped that MyHVnet will continue to be the best platform to establish a strong collaboration between universities and industries in Malaysia in high voltage related matters. He also wished all the best to the newly elected 2017-2018 MyHVnet Committee members.

# Dr. Wan Fatinhamamah Wan Ahmad (Universiti Putra Malaysia), Secretary 1, MyHVnet,.